Winfield, Kan., Nov. 4, 2010 — The Southwestern College student newspaper, “The Collegian,” received national recognition last week during the National College Media Convention in Louisville, Ky.

“The Collegian” was named a four-year non-weekly Best of Show winner. The Best of Show competition is held at all conventions and workshops sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press.

Only publications and broadcast teams with students in attendance at the convention are eligible to enter the contest. Paige Carswell, editor-in-chief, and Lea Shores, managing editor, represented “The Collegian” during the convention. The Best of Show award signifies overall excellence among the attendees and entries.

Five other non-weekly student newspapers were also named Best of Show winners during the convention. According to Stacy Sparks, advisor to “The Collegian” and associate professor of journalism at Southwestern, the number of entries and places awarded may change from year to year, usually corresponding with overall attendance.

Best of Show entries for print publications consist of one issue of a newspaper from the current school year.

Carswell, Shores, and Inger Furholt, Moundbuilder yearbook delegate, heard keynote addresses by two Pulitzer Prize winners and attended in-depth sessions covering convergence, design, photography, and writing.

Sparks is the chairperson on College Media Advisers’ adviser awards committee. She, along with her committee, presented awards to eight advisers during the convention’s opening session Oct. 28. She also led a session Friday morning for yearbook staffs from small colleges.

Southwestern College is a private institution granting undergraduate and graduate degrees and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church. About 1,900 students attend classes at the main Winfield campus, at five professional studies sites in Kansas and Oklahoma, or online around the world.