Pictured above: Troy Fort, psychology sophomore, follows through on a shot from the fairway. Fort earned a tournament score of 163. (Bailey VenJohn/Staff reporter)

resized in story

Justin Churchill, business administration senior, chips the ball towards the green. Churchill finished the tournament in sixth place. (Bailey VenJohn/Staff photographer)

The men’s golf team stole first place at their home meet on March 28 and 29. The Builders posted a team score of 619, 43 strokes above par.

Oklahoma Wesleyan finished with a team score of 626 to take second.

Individually Seth Bryan, business administration senior, led all golfers and earned first place. Bryan totaled 74 on Monday and 78 on Tuesday for an overall score of 152.

Justin Churchill, business administration senior, finished in sixth place with a score of 156. Just one stroke behind Churchill was Brian Peck, biology junior, finishing tied for seventh.

Steven Venn, biology senior, and Kyle Karpe, business administration senior, shot a 159 and 162 respectively and earned ninth and eleventh place.

Troy Fort, psychology sophomore, shot a 163 for 12th place and Chris Kelly, business administration freshman, was just a stroke behind Fort.

Jonah Pfingsten, physical education sophomore, and Eddie Fahnestock, business administration senior, followed suit totaling scores of 168 and 169.

Kyle Branine, business administration senior, rounded out the Builders with a 177.

On the women’s side of things no team score was kept but three Lady Builders competed individually.

Brenna Truhe, English senior, finished best for Southwestern shooting a 193 and finishing in fourth. Danae Decker, marine biology junior, ended with a 205 and sixth place and Bailey Pfingsten, freshman, a 214 and seventh place.

The next play date for the men’s team is set for April 2 and 3 at the Hesston Golf Course in Hesston, Kan. The women continue play in Parkville, Mo. at The Deuce on April 11 and 12.

Bailey VenJohn is a senior majoring in communication. You may email her at bailey.venjohn@sckans.edu.